Next CVO Meeting April 18, 2018

The next meeting of CVO will be held at the Jesse Brown VA Medical Center in the 2nd floor Conference Room on this Wednesday, April 18th at 7 PM.

We will hold elections to the Executive Committee.

Angela Turner-Susberry will make a presentation to veterans showing that they need to take care of their arrangements in advance, thereby taking the burden off their families. They can share this information with their family and friends.

Donald Evans of the American Federation of Government Employees (AFGE) which organizes workers at Jesse Brown, will make a presentation on the Right to Heal Campaign. Bruce Parry will update the members on the Right to Heal meeting held on this past Saturday and on other activities involving CVO.

As usual, pizza will be served. Parking will be validated.

See you Wednesday!

Next CVO Meeting March 21, 2018

The next meeting of CVO will be held at the Jesse Brown VA Medical Center in the 2nd floor Conference Room on this Wednesday, March 21st at 7 PM. The Executive Committee will meet before hand at 6 PM. All are invited. Executive Committee members are encouraged to be on time.

CORRECTION: There will not be an Executive Committee meeting on March 21, 2018 CVO meeting.

LaShun James will make a presentation on Addus Homecare for Veterans. This is an important medical issue for Veterans, so be sure to come and hear LaShun.

Also, nominations will be held for the Executive Committee. All nominations must be made at this meeting. The elections to the CVO Executive Committee will be held at the April meeting.

As usual, pizza will be served. Parking will be validated.

See you Wednesday!

CVO Elects Willie Mack CVO Chair

The Coalition of Veterans Organizations elected its Executive Committee at the last meeting. The Executive Committee has elected Willie Mack the Chair of the Coalition. Dr. Mack is a Life Member of VII Corps LRRP (Abn) Association, 75th Ranger Regiment Association, Inc., Illinois AMVETS, 555th Parachute Infantry Association, and an Annual Member of the American Legion. He served with the 1/502nd (Strike Force), 101st Airborne Division, VII Corps Long Range Reconnaissance Patrol Company (LRRP), and Co C (LRP) 58th Infantry (Germany). He graduated from the Seventh Army Noncommissioned Officer Academy and was promoted to Sergeant E-5.

He is a financial planner and formerly served as a school superintendent and visiting assistant professor. His academic credentials include a Ph.D. in public policy analysis from the UIC, Masters of Public Administration degree from Roosevelt University, Masters of Education in Reading degree from Loyola University and a Certificate of Advanced Study in Educational Administration from the University of Chicago. He writes and speaks on financial issues related to veterans, the youth, and families. He educates and advocates for veterans’ rights to speedy and quality health care and benefits.

He believes what Abraham Lincoln once spoke: “With malice toward none, with charity for all, with firmness in the right as God gives us to see the right, let us strive on to finish the work we are in, to bind up the nation’s wounds, to care for him, who shall have borne the battle and for his widow and his orphan, to do all which may achieve and cherish a just and lasting peace among ourselves and with all nations.”

Also elected were Vice-Chair Larry Nazimek, a member of CVO, Veterans Strike Force and other veterans organization. Larry has been acting as Chair for the past year and heads up the Veterans Affairs Committee of CVO. Bruce Parry, Past Coalition Chair, was elected Treasurer. Dr. Parry is a decorated Vietnam combat veteran and social activist. He has been active in the veterans movement for almost 40 years. Col. (ret) Dr. Connie Edwards was re-elected Recording Secretary. She has held that position for a number of years. Dr. Edwards is a Vietnam veteran, having served in-country as a nurse. She has a Ph.D. in Nursing and taught at Governor’s State University for 30 years. She retired from the Army as a full Colonel.

Other members of the Executive Committee include the founder, director and past-Vice-Chair of the Coalition, David J. Rogers; Christopher LaFayelle, Chair of the Veterans Housing and Employment Assistance (VHEA); Carlos Luna, Chair of the Chicago Veterans, and long-time CVO Director Darryl Howard, who is also a member of the 555 Parachute Infantry Association.

Pictures and bios of the Executive Committee – as well as full information about CVO – can be found on our website at

Next CVO Meeting March 15, 2017

The next meeting of CVO will be held at 7 PM on Wednesday, March 15th in the 2nd Floor Conference Room at Jesse Brown VA Medical Center, 820 S Damen.

The Anti-Privatization Campaign will be on the Agenda. Also, Nominations for the CVO Executive Committee will be made at this meeting. Elections will be held in April.

Three days later – on Saturday, March 18th – is the VAC Corned Beef and Cabbage Dinner. Be sure to attend!

See you at the CVO meeting!

see Meeting Event Page for more details.